Dear life

Dear Life, 

Why must you always throw curve balls these days? What happened to the good ole days of the fast ball, the one I knew was coming, and the one I knew I could hit no matter who was pitching. What happened to those days?

These days all I get are curve balls. I live in a society where expectations are to go to school, get a job, find a good girl, live a good life. What happens when the fast balls stop coming and I start getting the curveballs?

What happens when I went to school and graduated with a degree that doesn’t get me anywhere? What happens when I can’t find a good job, and I have to depend on others for funds? What happens when I never meet the right girl, but only the bad ones. This isn’t the good life? I can’t hit these curveballs.

Where do I go to learn how to adjust the swing? How do I learn to bat against these curve balls? I keep swinging and swinging and striking out over and over again. How many more innings do I have left in this game?

Can I keep practicing or will I continue to strike out? Will I wake up early to practice and stay focused and study everything I can about the curveballs? Maybe if I understood the velocity, the speed, the angle. If I could just sit and watch curveballs being thrown over and over again, will I be able to hit it better? 

I don’t think it’s about just understanding the curveball. I think it’s also about knowing when it’s coming and sometimes choosing not to swing. If you don’t swing , maybe you don’t strike out. If you don’t strike out, maybe you can get on base. Getting on base maybe will point you in the right direction. 

I don’t want to not swing, I want to swing and hit it big. I want to hit a grand slam not just a home run. I want the bases loaded. I want to return to the good ole days. I want the curve ball to be my fast ball. So I go and practice. I go learn everything thing I can about it. 

It’s ok if I don’t know when it’s coming. But if I know everything about it, at least if I practice hard enough, work hard enough at it, just maybe I can be a little more prepared to make the choice of swinging, not swinging and even if I miss it, I know there will be another game, another day, another moment to practice and prepare to get that grand slam. Never give up, never stop trying. 

Leave a comment